Community Central
Community Central
This Forum has been archived
Forums: Admin Central Index General Questions Automatic messages and Signature help
Central's forums are a place for the community to help other members.
To contact staff directly or to report bugs, please use Special:Contact.
Note: This topic has been unedited for 4051 days. It is considered archived - the discussion is over. Do not add to unless it really needs a response.

I'm currently an admin at Hunterpedia. I just want to ask how automated messages work, the ones that are automatically sent to users after editing the first time on your wiki. I've seen lots of wiki's having a more elaborate messages, such as introducing the wki's policies.

I also want to ask you about the signatures. A customized signature doesn't work on the wiki. I already tried saving it in the Templates or User. The signature appears once you viewed it but it doesn't work when you try to use it. I already tried puting a code in the Preferences page. But it doesn't really work.

Please help. Thanks - Darkchylde 06:25, April 18, 2012 (UTC)

Try Help:welcome tool for a start (and several old posts here in the forums) Wikia's search will turn some of the many past forum posts about the welcome tool and custom sigs up. But sombody witha better memory may be along ina bit and give you link to one or a direct answer. - IHBTD6-Drott 13:30, April 18, 2012 (UTC)
I'm splitting up the answers to the two questions in different sections below, since it will be confusing otherwise. -- Fandyllic (talk · contr) 18 Apr 2012 1:21 PM Pacific

Welcome messages

The welcome messages area at "MediaWiki:welcome-message ......" were ..... is various options for IP or logged in users. If you have seen one on a wiki you like ask the local admins about it - as if you just copy it, it may not work in your wiki without other templates & changes to the links - IHBTD6-Drott 13:30, April 18, 2012 (UTC)