Community Central
Register
Community Central
This Forum has been archived
Forums: Admin Central Index General Questions Edit counts not matching
Central's forums are a place for the community to help other members.
To contact staff directly or to report bugs, please use Special:Contact.
Note: This topic has been unedited for 4018 days. It is considered archived - the discussion is over. Do not add to unless it really needs a response.

Hi all,

On the wikia I am an admin on http://dragonvale.wikia.com/ I notice that there are two different edit counts, one on my profile and one with http://dragonvale.wikia.com/wiki/Special:Editcount

So far so good, but what is strange is that the edit counts do have different numbers. My profile says 2.092 and the edit count says 2.818, The only thing I can possibly see where the difference would be is that moving Files is count as edit on the edit count and not on my profile page.

I would sure like to have both edit counts act the same, as it confuses me why they are not the same.

Not sure if this is the best place to ask this, if not which staff member would I need to contact?

Essiw 13:35, June 7, 2012 (UTC)

I'm not 100% sure, but from what I can tell the editcount on your profile updates every so often, while Special:Editcount updates every time you make an edit. After a while, the editcount on your profile should catch up. Cat: meowhunt 16:08, June 9, 2012 (UTC)
Thanks for your answer, but that does not seem the case here, I seem to be constantly missing 800 edits on one of the pages. Essiw 23:23, June 9, 2012 (UTC)
Perhaps it misses out deleted contribs? Other than that all I can think of is page moves like you suggested. User:Cåm/Signature 23:49, June 9, 2012 (UTC)