Community Central
Community Central
Forums: Index Support Requests Making templates
Fandom's forums are a place for the community to help other members.
To contact staff directly or to report bugs, please use Special:Contact.
Archive
Note: This topic has been unedited for 4320 days. It is considered archived - the discussion is over. Information in this thread may be out of date. Do not add to unless it really needs a response.

I'm an admin on the Vampire Academy Wiki, and I want to make an admin template that I can put on my userpage, but I have no idea how to create templates. Love and Lust 17:02, June 17, 2012 (UTC)

Templates are coded in exactly the same way as normal pages, except you put Template: on the front of their name.
When you add a template to an article, you can add arguments to it, a template in a page may look like this {{templatename|something|somethingelse}} - the text after the | symbol are "arguments" to the template. The first argument replaces the text {{{1}}} every time it occurs in the template, the second argument replaces the text {{{2}}}, etc. -- RandomTime 17:09, June 17, 2012 (UTC)
If you still need help with templates, this page I found might be able to help youRainbowYoshi Random yoshi 777 RainbowYoshi
random as of 06/17/2012!!! 19:11, June 17, 2012 (UTC)
Templates are pieces of text to be reused multiple times. If you want a template for just one page, you might as well put this code right into that page.--PedroM 20:50, June 17, 2012 (UTC)
I'll take a look at Random yoshi's link and take it from there. Love and Lust 01:48, June 18, 2012 (UTC)
The easiest way to learn in my opinion how to create templates is by experimenting with them. Click the Random Wiki button at the bottom a few times and find an interesting wiki, search for an infobox and try to modify it (in your own sandbox, of course).