FANDOM

• I'm relatively new to the whole 'Wikia' thing, I've had a look around and tried different possible solutions to this, but nothing really works. Basically, I copied a template from the Star Wars Wikia for use on my own personal Wikia, however on their version of the template, the text is very small and compact, yet on mine it is large and takes up too much space. 

Here's an example of theirs:

http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Battle_of_Yavin (notice the small text in the infobox)

Now there's mine:

http://thearchives.wikia.com/wiki/Battle_of_ex (notice the large text)

I copied the source completely, but I don't understand why mine is so different... Sorry if it's an obvious answer but I'm really puzzled. Thanks.

Loading editor
    • Copying the template is not enough sometimes. In this case there are also a bunch of CSS rules that govern that template. This is the one that's responsible for the font-size:

.infobox {
          border-collapse: collapse;
          font-size: 0.8em;
          line-height: 1.5;
      }

Try to add this rule to your MediaWiki:Wikia.css!

See also:

Help:JavaScript_and_CSS_Cheatsheet

W3Schools CSS Tutorial

Loading editor
    • Thanks! :)

Loading editor
    • Creating a template through CSS is the way to go, because once you've figured out the basic style of your infoboxes, you can just "stamp out" infobox after infobox like an assembly line — and they all have a precisely similar visual style.

If you create the infobox solely through inline CSS — i.e. the bit you can cut and paste by going to someone's template:whatever file — then you run the risk of gradual design decay. Edtior John will come in and tweak the left margin on one infobox but not on others. Editor Sally will come bay and tweak the shade of green on one infobox but not on others. And before you know it, your template:infoboxbook is looking radically different (or worse, annoyingly almost-but-not-quite the same") to template:infoboxmagazine.