Wikia

Community Central

Comments0

Ben 10 Fan Fiction's Review on Visual Editor

Sci100 January 31, 2014 User blog:Sci100
BTFF_A_Year_of_Change_Picture.png

Hello Wikians, thank you for clicking this blog! My name is Sci100, and I am an administrator on Ben 10 Fan Fiction wiki. Now, as part of the job of being an administrator, I actively try to seek new ways to improve my home wiki. One of these ways was the newest program my Wiki is going through, 2014 - A Year of Change, the latest push to clean up the wiki, update different pages, help new users, and make things in general, a better experience for all users. As decided by the wiki, we decided to test Project Darwin's new Visual Editor for one week. During this week (and after), users gave their opinion on Visual Editor. For the sake of privacy, I have named them by User-# instead of their actual usernames. Here are some of the things they had to say:

Visual_Darwin.jpg
Eh... I could get used to it, but templates are really buggy and annoying, although I guess they'll fix it when it comes out. The whole "stay on the page while editing" is also slightly annoying, but we'll get used to it. After all, we'll eventually get forced to use it by wikia. For now, just keep using the classic editor until Wikia forces it.
~ User #1

I disagree with keeping it personally. Reason: The Visual Editor was not quite as conveniant as I thought. I honestly was most disturbed by the fact that Visual Editor does not accept Wikitext. The less prominent reason was because, although the Visual Editor was made for quick editing, its tools were quite perplexing, and certain simple jobs such as linking have become way harder and take more time.
~ User #2