Community Central
Community Central

Long before I ever worked for Wikia, I was an administrator on the Star Wars Fanon wiki—and I still am. One of the most important things I’ve learned in my time there is what the ideal role of an admin is, or at least should be. I think this is a really important topic here on Wikia, and I wanted to share my thoughts on this with you.

Admins, as you know, are users with additional editing tools to help with more advanced wiki maintenance (such as deleting and protecting pages), as well as policy enforcement tools like the ability to block users. That gives admins a lot of power, but there’s often a question as to what the role of an admin should be and how that power should be used. Are admins meant to be the boss of a wiki, or are they meant to be something else? I’d argue that they’re meant to be something else.

Admins should serve the community[]

This idea is an ideal scenario, and it’s one that may not be the most practical if you have a very small group of users working on a wiki, but this is the goal you should shoot for. What this means is that admins don’t make the rules and don’t make unilateral decisions, but rather they use their tools to carry out the will of the community.

GeneralAssembly

Communities should come together to discuss issues and make decisions, rather than being done by a small group of admins.